Reviewing J.R. Adler’s Dead Woman Crossing

Updated: Sep 30

#deadwomancrossing #sarahhardy #booktour #bookreview #blogtour

I'm a big Jane Harper fan so when I read that Dead Woman Crossing was similar to her style, I knew I had to be a part of this book tour. And as a Jane Harper fan, I’m of course, a lover of police procedurals. So, while the book was a bit slow at first, it picked up in the second half of the book as the protagonist, Kimberley tried to solve the case of the murdered single mother.

The small town added to the challenges Kimberley faced in getting any details from the residents of Dead Woman Crossing. The residents wouldn’t provide her with much, as a small town residents learn to stick together and look out for one another. But to what lengths? I can relate to Kimberley’s feeling of irritation with the town’s residents and being the new person in a town where everyone knew each other.

I really enjoyed Adler’s writing style. She described the setting in great detail that transported me to Oklahoma, and I was able to see the world through Kimberley’s eyes. The built-up anticipation and suspense kept me drawn to going back and picking up the book. I don’t want to give too much away as this story was good that I want my community to read it for themselves.

As a result, I will definitely be reading the next book in the series as Dead Woman Crossing was a not-to-be-missed mystery story.


Thank you to Bookouture and NetGalley for the advanced reader's copy. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.


⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5

Book Description

She threw open the door, running to the crib. When she looked inside, she gasped. The world around her went silent. Inside, there was nothing but a small stuffed elephant. Where was her baby? When young, single mother Hannah is found murdered by the banks of a twisting Oklahoma creek, her one-year-old daughter sleeping in a stroller near her body, the small town of Dead Woman Crossing reels in horror. Detective Kimberley King, recently relocated from New York to Oklahoma, with her young daughter Jessica, can’t ignore the similarity of Hannah’s death to the case of Katie James, the woman that the town of Dead Woman Crossing is named after. Katie was murdered in front of her small daughter in 1905, on the banks of the same creek, and it seems that someone is drawing inspiration from the crime. Could this killer be a copycat? But as she interviews suspects, Kimberley is met with blank faces and closed lips. In a small town, people won’t talk and when she pursues a promising lead, her own family turn their back on her. Kimberley isn’t afraid to ask questions, but when she receives a threatening note, she realises that, as a single mother to a young daughter, she might be putting herself dangerously in the killer’s sights … A gripping, atmospheric crime thriller inspired by true events, about a town on the edge of collapse and a murder that shakes the community. Dead Woman Crossing is perfect for fans of Rachel Caine, Lisa Regan and Jane Harper.

Author Bio


Originally from Wisconsin, J.R. Adler currently lives in Ithaca, New York with her husband, Drew, and her English Bulldog, Winston. When not writing, you can find her reading, playing board games, travelling, and binge watching The Office for the umpteenth time.


Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jradlerauthor/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/jradlerauthor

Buy Links


Amazon: https://bit.ly/3bZOFdP

Apple: https://apple.co/2ZFBUjH

Kobo: https://bit.ly/2NprQ7Z

Google: https://bit.ly/2Yuajly


Check out what others are saying about Dead Woman Crossing


 

©2020 by Tamsterdam Reads. Proudly created with Wix.com