Reviewing Coming Home to Penvennan Cove by Linn B. Halton

#cominghometopenvennancove #linnbhalton #booktour #blogtour #bookreview

The definition of this book is the word charming. Set in the Cornish village of Penvennan Cove, protagonist Kerra moves back to the quiet, yet gossipy village where she was brought up before moving to London. After her mother passes away, Kerra realizes it is time to sell her successful business and move back to take care of her dad and be free of the work stress and pressures. She comes back to welcoming arms of old friends and family and sets up her inherited cottage.


This novel had charm but needed a bit more of character development with the secondary characters. I felt interactions were a bit forced and a few ends were not tied about the way a character reacted to the Kerra. However, if you love watching HGTV, (which I do), you’ll really like reading about all the home renovations that Kerra undergoes with her home and her next door neighbour, Drew’s home. The home renovation work was written into detail and it connected the various happenings of the story.


The developing relationship between Kerra and her highschool crush, Ross was sweet and I really liked how realistic it was. They both came into the relationship with baggage and knew what that baggage was and that there was not cookie cutter, cherry on top result with them getting together. They had to work through their struggles and in the end, came to a compromise that left both of them happy.


Overall, this is a story for those who enjoy detailed ins and outs of everyday comings and goings. Normally, I’m not one for that but this book achieved it making it appealing to keep reading.


⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5


Thanks to Aria Fiction and NetGalley for the advanced reader's copy. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

Book Description


Can Kerra's Cornish hometown offer the fresh start she needs?


When Kerra left the quiet Cornish town of Penvennan Cove for the bright lights of London she didn't look back. But after the death of her mother, she's decided it's time to face her past and return to the place she called home. Her father needs her, and perhaps she needs him more than she's willing to admit?


Tackling town gossip, home renovations and a flame from her past, it's not quite smooth sailing for Kerra. Ross is the bad boy she was meant to forget, not a man who still sets her heart aflutter. As he helps bring her dream home to life, they begin to break down the barriers that have been holding them back and in the process learn things about themselves they never thought possible.


As friends old and new come together, the future in Penvennan looks bright.


Perfect for fans of Milly Johnson, Phillipa Ashley and Julie Houston.

Buy Links


Amazon: https://amzn.to/2F7KHUd

Kobo: https://bit.ly/3f1Nknq

Google Play: https://bit.ly/3m2oJ6e

iBooks: https://apple.co/2QZ9XP8


Author Bio


From interior designer to author, when Linn B. Halton's not writing, or spending time with the family, she's either upcycling furniture or working in the garden. Linn won the 2013 UK Festival of Romance: Innovation in Romantic Fiction award; her novels have been short-listed in the UK's Festival of Romance and the eFestival of Words Book Awards. Living in Coed Duon in the Welsh Valleys with her 'rock', Lawrence, and gorgeous Bengal cat Ziggy, she freely admits she's an eternal romantic. Linn is a member of the Romantic Novelists' Association and the Society of Authors. Linn writes feel-good, uplifting novels about life, love and relationships.


Twitter: @LinnBHalton

Facebook: @LinnBHaltonAuthor

Follow Aria


Twitter: @aria_fiction

Facebook: @ariafiction

Instagram: @ariafiction


Read what others are saying about Coming Home to Penvennan Cove




 

©2020 by Tamsterdam Reads. Proudly created with Wix.com