Book Tour: Why She Died by J.G Roberts Keeps You Guessing Right to the End

#BookTour #BlogTour #BookReview #CrimeThriller


To stop the killer, you need to know…why she died. Why She Died is the third book in the Detective Rachel Hart series but was first book that I read. This crime thriller gets right into it right from the start and the amount of plot twists and turns will guarantee give you whiplash (but in a good way!)

I also liked how each chapter took on a different character’s point-of-view so that you understand their thought process, feelings and emotions until the very end and I love how descriptive Roberts writes these – putting the reader right into the character’s mind. This kept the story refreshing and was effectively written that was not confusing for the reader.


The story didn’t lag but if there was anything that I felt lost some of its appeal was that there was a lot of back and forth dialogue among the detectives when they would ask each other if they did this or that. I’m sure that happens in real life, but it felt a bit unnecessary when it would have been stated as something that got taken care of when providing the reader further details of the case.


On another note, the characters were down-to-earth, which I enjoyed as the author had some of the characters doing normal things such as, DCI’s second-in-command, DI Graham Wilson giving his kids and bath and then putting them to bed. Roberts successfully penned the pressures of life outside of detective work and the sacrifices the police force must make if an urgent issue is at hand that cuts into their personal lives.


Overall, Why She Died was a great crime thriller novel that will keep you guessing up who did it up until the very end.


Thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for the advanced reader’s copy. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

⭐️⭐️⭐️💫/5


Tell me some of your favourite crime thrillers!

Book Description

It was a person after all, but she was suspended in mid-air. Abi’s heart began to thump against her ribcage as the full horror of what she was seeing became apparent. Her shrill scream pierced the silence, startling birds into taking flight. ‘Help me!’ she cried. ‘Somebody please help!’ When beautiful and bright Hannah is late for their morning run, her best friend Abi thinks nothing of it. Hannah isn’t always that reliable – she’s probably just overslept. But as Abi runs through the woods, following the same route she always does, she is greeted by a horrifying sight: Hannah’s body, swaying in the breeze. Detective Rachel Hart is called to the scene. Something seems wrong from the start. Hannah’s friends and family insist that she had everything to live for, and no one has a bad word to say about her. But when murder is confirmed, and Rachel starts digging, she soon realises that there were plenty of people with reasons to want Hannah dead. Then a second woman is found strangled in the same woods, and everything Rachel thought is thrown into doubt. Is there a serial killer at work? Rachel is determined to find answers before another life is lost – all the time unaware that the killer’s sights are focussed firmly on her. Can Rachel unravel the deadly game before she walks into a trap? A breathtakingly twisty thriller for fans of Rachel Abbott, Cara Hunter and Angela Marsons.

About the Author

Having signed with Bookouture in late 2018, my first book with them, Little Girl Missing, was published in June 2019 followed by the second in the Detective Rachel Hart series in October of the same year.

I'm originally from Nottingham, where I have based a couple of my novels, but I am now resident in Berkshire and have used Reading and the surrounding area as the location for the DCI Rachel Hart series.

From the age of ten I had wanted to write fiction but left it until I was fifty-seven before self-publishing my first novel, Life's a Beach and Then, proving it's never too late to start something new. When I'm not writing, I am a full-time presenter on QVC, the UK's most successful shopping channel where I have worked for over twenty-six years. I also enjoy cooking, watching football, in particular my team Crystal Palace, gardening, and Pilates which is helping with my rehabilitation following recent ankle surgery. I'm an animal lover and a committed vegetarian for the past thirty-five years.

Buy Links

Amazon: https://bit.ly/2z8Hph1 Apple: https://apple.co/2LOHYze Kobo: https://bit.ly/2TrLeVl Google: https://bit.ly/3cSCkYL


See what others are saying about Why She Died



16 views
 

©2020 by Tamsterdam Reads. Proudly created with Wix.com